Welcome to 2015!

It a new year, and you know what that means, right? It’s time to reflect on the past year and decide what we can do this year to be a better person. Since you’re reading this, I’m going to assume you hope to continue to become a better caregiver. I know I do.  It’s a constant journey, you know? So I’m here to help you out.

There are some wonderful child care books out there, but there’s so many, I know it can be daunting to decide which ones to read.  Here are some of my favorites.  I’ve read each of these and have loved them.  Hopefully you’ll get just as much out of them!

How to Talk So Kids Will Listen and Listen So Kids Will Talk by Adele Faber and Elain Mazlish

I literally re-read this book once a year, sometimes more often.  The strategies are simple, but oh so helpful, especially with kids that are school-age.

Siblings Without Rivalry by Adele Faber and Elain Mazlish

Another one to read more than once!  Everyone who cares for siblings should read this one.

Brain Rules for Baby: How to Raise a Smart and Happy Child from Zero to Five by John Medina

The title of this book is deceptive. You don’t have to have a baby to find this beneficial.  It’s all about early childhood development, based on science and psychology, but written so that it’s easy to understand.  I’ve written a few blog entries already about topics from this book.  Definitely worth a read.

Raising My Rainbow: Adventures in Raising a Fabulous, Gender Creative Son by Lori Duron

This is more of a memoir than an advice/idea type book, but I think it’s an important book to read.  If you’ve read much of my blog, you may have noticed that gender roles are a hot-button topic for me.  I think it’s beyond important to allow a child to enjoy whatever it is that he/she enjoys, and not put gender labels on those things.  Lori’s book is fantastic and heart-warming.  You’ll love it.  I promise.

No Whine With Dinner: 150 Healthy, Kid-Tested Recipes by Liz Weiss, MS, RD & Janice Newell Bissex, MS, RD

Great recipes and great advice on helping picky eaters to branch out- this is a well-organized, super helpful book!

—–

I already have some books on my 2015 reading list! Here’s the ones that I haven’t read yet, but plan to!

Good Kids, Tough Choices: How Parents Can Help Their Children Do the Right Thing by Rushworth M. Kidder

Get the Behavior You Want… Without Being the Parent You Hate! Dr. G’s Guide to Effective Parenting by Deborah Gilboa MD

Life, Animated by Ron Suskind

The Princess Problem: Guiding Our Girls Through the Princess-Obsessed Years by Rebecca C. Hains

The Newbie’s Guide to Positive Parenting by Rebecca Eanes

Teach Your Children Well: Parenting for Authentic Success by Madeline Levine, PhD

Do you have any child care related books that I should add to my list? Let me know!

Leave a Reply

